AMVCA : Full list of winners at 10th edition as BREATH OF LIFE shines brighter than A TRIBE CALLED JUDAH

Full list of winners at 10th AMVCA
Nigerian film, ‘Breath of Life’, has won major categories in the 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA).

The film produced in 2023 by BB Sasore and Derin Adeyokunnu secured wins for Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Sound Design, Best Director, and the most coveted award of the night – Best Movie.

The AMVCA is an annual award presented by MultiChoice, recognising outstanding achievements in television and film.

The event started on Thursday with a night of icons and a vibrant Cultural Day celebration on Friday, May 10, 2024.

On Saturday, the 10th anniversary of the award continued at Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, hosted by television personality, Ikponmwosa Osakioduwa.

Veteran Actress, Idowu Philips, known as Iya Rainbow, was honoured with the ‘Industry Merit Award’.

Richard Mofe-Damijo, a veteran Nollywood actor, was also announced as joint winner of the Industry Merit Award of the 10th edition of the AMVCA.

Philips said:  “I thank God that I am still alive. 1942 till now, I thank God.

“I dedicate the award to my creator, my late husband, Augustine Ayanfemi, my children, my fans, and my friends. Thank you all.”

Speaking at the event, Dr Busola Tejumola, Executive Head of Content and Channels, West Africa, MultiChoice, said the AMVCA was created to honour exceptional achievements in television and film across the continent.

Below is a list of winners at the 10th AMVCA:

Best Writing Award: Volume

Best writing movie: Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola

Best Sound Design: Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)

Best Editing: Antonio Ribeiro

Best Indigenous West Africa. Femi Adebayo (Jagun Jagun)

Best Digital Content: Layi Wasabi

Best Short Film: Broken Mask

Best Unscripted M-Net Original: Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)

Best Scripted: Slum King

Best Makeup: Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen)

Best Art Direction: Over the bridge

Best Costume Design: Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)

Best Supporting Actress: Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life

Best Supporting Actor: Ademola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)

Best Cinematography: Over the bridge

Best Indigenous MNet Original: Irora Iya

Trailblazer Award: Chimezie Imo

Industry Merit Awards: Iya Rainbow aka Idowu Philips and Richard Mofe Damijo

Best Lead Actress: Kehinde Bankole (Adire)

Best Lead Actor: Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)

Best MultiChoice Talent Factory Movie: Our Dark Past

Best Series (Unscripted): Gh Queens (s2)

Best Series Scripted: Itura

Best Director: BB Sasore (Breath of Life)

Best Movie: Breath of Life

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post